Skip to content

Canon RC-6 infrared — three bullets, one body named "t1i"

Sixteen euros for Canon’s own infrared remote, from a page of three bullets that names one camera in lower case and lists its contents twice.

Canon RC-6 infrared remote release, black, seen from the front

Canon RC-6 infrared — three bullets, one body named "t1i"

Sixteen euros for Canon’s own infrared remote, from a page of three bullets that names one camera in lower case and lists its contents twice.

Connection type
INFRARED — the only one on this shelf, and the constraint that defines it: an infrared remote needs LINE OF SIGHT to the sensor on the FRONT of the camera. It works from in front, where you are standing to be photographed, and not from behind. Every other remote here uses radio or Bluetooth and works through a wall
Sockets and bodies named
ONE, and written as "t1i" in lower case — the EOS Rebel T1i, a camera from 2009. The RC-6 in fact works with a long list of Canon bodies carrying an infrared receiver, and the page names a single one of them, in the wrong case
Half-press support
Not stated. The RC-6 has a two-position switch — immediate release and a two-second delay — and the page mentions neither
Intervalometer functions
None
Stated range
NOT PUBLISHED. Two remotes on this shelf publish 50 m and one publishes 10 m; the original publishes nothing, on a technology whose range is its main limitation
Power source
NOT PUBLISHED. The RC-6 uses a CR2032, and the page does not say so — where the 8 € ATUMTEK publishes the cell, its capacity and its shot count
Amazon reference
DE B0037NX6JY · US B07L8HTKDH · GB B07L8HTKDH · FR B07L8HTKDH · IT B07L8HTKDH · ES B07L8HTKDH
EAN
4960999669304
  • Canon’s own remote, so the infrared protocol is the correct one
  • The RC-6 part number identifies it unambiguously
  • Three bullets, and the contents are listed twice

Best for: A Canon body with an infrared receiver, standing in front of the camera — bought by part number because the page says nothing else.

≈ $20 / £11 / 13 €
Check price on Amazon

Specifications

Connection type
INFRARED — the only one on this shelf, and the constraint that defines it: an infrared remote needs LINE OF SIGHT to the sensor on the FRONT of the camera. It works from in front, where you are standing to be photographed, and not from behind. Every other remote here uses radio or Bluetooth and works through a wall
Sockets and bodies named
ONE, and written as "t1i" in lower case — the EOS Rebel T1i, a camera from 2009. The RC-6 in fact works with a long list of Canon bodies carrying an infrared receiver, and the page names a single one of them, in the wrong case
Half-press support
Not stated. The RC-6 has a two-position switch — immediate release and a two-second delay — and the page mentions neither
Intervalometer functions
None
Stated range
NOT PUBLISHED. Two remotes on this shelf publish 50 m and one publishes 10 m; the original publishes nothing, on a technology whose range is its main limitation
Power source
NOT PUBLISHED. The RC-6 uses a CR2032, and the page does not say so — where the 8 € ATUMTEK publishes the cell, its capacity and its shot count
Amazon reference
DE B0037NX6JY · US B07L8HTKDH · GB B07L8HTKDH · FR B07L8HTKDH · IT B07L8HTKDH · ES B07L8HTKDH
EAN
4960999669304

On the listing

Three bullets, two of which say the same thing. Compatible for: t1i — contents: Canon RC-6 infrared remote; colour: black; contents: Canon RC-6 infrared remote.

Infrared, which means standing in front

The receiver is a window on the front of the camera. This remote works from where you are posing and nowhere else. The radio remotes on this shelf work through a wall at 50 metres.

One camera, in lower case

“t1i” — the EOS Rebel T1i, from 2009. The RC-6 fits a great many Canon bodies, and the page names one of them badly.

The contents, twice

Of three bullets, two are the same list. The third is a colour.

What the RC-6 actually has

A two-position switch: fire now, or fire in two seconds. The delay is what gets you back into the group, and the page never mentions it.

No range, no battery

Two remotes on this shelf publish 50 metres and one publishes its cell and its shot count. The original publishes neither.

Availability

Between 13 € and 16 € on the German, French, Italian and Spanish Amazon stores when this page was last checked.

The American and British Amazon stores carry it too, priced in local currency. Those amounts are deliberately absent from the range above, which reads euro stores only.

Everything in this section is the figure Keepa carried on the day of the last update to this page. Availability and prices shift without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 13 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

All remote shutter releases