Skip to content

Canon E-58II, 58 mm — three bullets, two irrelevant

Four euros for Canon’s own 58 mm cap, from a listing whose three bullets are a colour and two camera specifications that have nothing to do with a cap.

Canon E-58II black lens cap lying face up

Canon E-58II, 58 mm — three bullets, two irrelevant

Four euros for Canon’s own 58 mm cap, from a listing whose three bullets are a colour and two camera specifications that have nothing to do with a cap.

Cap type
A front cap — the Canon E-58II, identified by part number in the title. The "II" marks Canon’s revised centre-pinch design, replacing an older rim-grip cap, which is the single most useful fact about it and appears nowhere in the bullets
Thread or mount fit
58 mm, carried only by the part number: E-58II. No bullet states a diameter, and no lens is named — where the 4 € JJC on this shelf names nine
Pinch mechanism
NOT STATED. The E-58II is a centre-pinch cap, which is why it can be removed inside a hood, and the page does not say so
Tether provision
NONE. No cord, no hole and no keeper
Material
Not named
Pack contents
Not stated. What the three bullets do contain is: "colour: black"; "Intervall-Aufnahme Y" — interval shooting, yes; and "USB Konnektivitätstechnologie" — USB connectivity technology. The last two are fields from a camera-body template, published on the listing for a piece of plastic with no electronics in it
Amazon reference
B00A2BWAKK (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
4960999795904
  • Canon’s own part, so the fit and the pinch action are the originals
  • The E-58II part number identifies it unambiguously
  • Two of its three bullets are camera specifications — interval shooting and USB

Best for: Replacing a lost original cap on a 58 mm Canon lens, bought by part number.

≈ £5 / 4 €
Check price on Amazon

Specifications

Cap type
A front cap — the Canon E-58II, identified by part number in the title. The "II" marks Canon’s revised centre-pinch design, replacing an older rim-grip cap, which is the single most useful fact about it and appears nowhere in the bullets
Thread or mount fit
58 mm, carried only by the part number: E-58II. No bullet states a diameter, and no lens is named — where the 4 € JJC on this shelf names nine
Pinch mechanism
NOT STATED. The E-58II is a centre-pinch cap, which is why it can be removed inside a hood, and the page does not say so
Tether provision
NONE. No cord, no hole and no keeper
Material
Not named
Pack contents
Not stated. What the three bullets do contain is: "colour: black"; "Intervall-Aufnahme Y" — interval shooting, yes; and "USB Konnektivitätstechnologie" — USB connectivity technology. The last two are fields from a camera-body template, published on the listing for a piece of plastic with no electronics in it
Amazon reference
B00A2BWAKK (same reference on 6 Amazon marketplaces)
EAN
4960999795904

On the listing

Three bullets. Colour: black; interval shooting: Y; USB connectivity technology.

Two bullets from the wrong product

Interval shooting and USB connectivity, on a lens cap. These are camera-body fields carried onto an accessory page by a template, and a cap has neither electronics nor a shutter.

What the part number carries

E-58II: 58 millimetres, and Canon’s revised centre-pinch design. Both facts live in the code rather than in the listing.

Why the “II” matters

The earlier caps were gripped at the rim and could not be removed with a hood fitted. The centre-pinch version can, and the page never says so.

No cord, at the same price as one with a cord

The 4 € JJC on this shelf includes an elastic keeper and two ways to attach it.

When an original is still the right buy

When the lens is Canon’s, the thread is 58 mm and the pinch tension should match what came in the box.

Availability

About 4 € on the German and French Amazon stores when this page was last checked.

The American and British Amazon stores carry it too, priced in local currency. Those amounts are deliberately absent from the range above, which reads euro stores only.

On the Italian and Spanish Amazon stores the asking prices sit more than 1.6× above the cheapest country. A difference that wide usually means a reshipper rather than a seller on the ground, so they are kept out of the figures above.

Everything in this section is the figure Keepa carried on the day of the last update to this page. Availability and prices shift without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 13 September 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

All lens caps